International Film Music Competition


6th International Film Music Competition 2017

One film – five musical experiences – one winner

The Zurich Film Festival and the Tonhalle-Orchestra Zurich collaborated once again with the Forum Filmmusik to present the sixth International Film Music Competition.

Participants were invited to score the 5-minute short film TAMAH by Erhan Yürük for symphony orchestra. The submission deadline was on 11 May 2017, and 189 composers from 38 countries all over the world have participated in the competition.
Further information can be found at

The members of the jury are

  • Anne Dudley, film music composer
  • Herbert Grönemeyer (president), composer/singer/actor
  • Fabian Römer, film music composer
  • Frank Strobel, conductor of the award concert on 5 October 2017
  • Erhan Yürük, director of the competition film TAMAH

The following five finalists were chosen from the entries received: 

  • Joakim Unander (Sweden)
  • David Arcus (Canada)
  • Giuseppe Onofrietti (Italy)
  • Christoph Johannes Hiller (Germany)
  • Andréane Détienne (France)


> Italian composer Giuseppe Onofrietti is the winner of the 6th International Film Music Competition