Film Music Competition


One film – five musical experiences – one winner

Once a year the Zurich Film Festival and the Tonhalle-Orchestra Zurich collaborate with the Forum Filmmusik to present the International Film Music Competition.

Composers of any age, any nationality and any domicile who have not set more than 3 feature films (longer than 60 minutes) to music are eligible to participate.

The competition requires entrants to compose a brand new score for a short film of about 5 minutes. The film is selected in advance by the organisers and made available for download.

Five finalists will be invited to Zurich for the premiere of their compositions. These are performed live in front of a public audience by the renowned Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich. An annually changing international jury of experts chooses the winning composition on the same night, and awards the Golden Eye for "Best International Film Music" endowed with a CHF 10'000 cash prize.

Update: This year’s International Film Music Competition (IFMC) will not go ahead as planned. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, we are forced to postpone the competition until next year. Find further information at

8th International Film Music Competition 2019

This year’s International Film Music Competition asks entrants to score the award-winning short film DANNY AND THE WILD BUNCH by Robert Rugan.

Robert Rugan’s DANNY AND THE WILD BUNCH is a captivating animated short about a crisis-stricken children’s book author who has been told that her characters are too nice and too harmless. Frightened for his very existence, protagonist Danny comes to life one night and joins his creator’s other fantasy figures to show her a very different side. The US American screenwriter, director and commercial director Robert Rugan is a two-time CLIO award winner. His short film DANNY AND THE WILD BUNCH has been selected to screen at numerous film festivals and has garnered several awards.

  • Composers of any age, nationality and place of residence who have scored or orchestrated no more than three feature-length films longer than 60 minutes are eligible to enter.  
  • The registration fee is CHF 85. Decide quickly and pay just CHF 55 by taking advantage of our early-bird discount offer until April 19, 2019.
  • The submission deadline is on May 31, 2019.  

Further information about the competition can be found at



  • Ching-Shan Chang (USA/Taiwan) *Winner*
  • Olivier Depierre (Switzerland)
  • Carl Falkenau (Sweden)
  • Andrey Mordovsky (Russia)
  • Gus Nicholson (Great Britain)

Previous events

2018 2017  |  2016  |  2015  |  2014  |  2013  |  2012