• inarritu babel mood

International Documentary Film


Simon Kilmurry (Jury President)

Simon Kilmurry is the current Executive Director of the International Documentary Association (IDA). Prior to joining IDA he was the Executive Producer of POV, the TV channel PBS’s prestigious doc showcase, during which time he won 17 Emmys. He is the recipient of six George Foster Peabody Awards, four DuPont Columbia Awards and two IDA-Awards for Best Continuing Series. He is a member of the Producers Guild of America and the British Academy of Film and Television Art, and he serves on the board of jurors for the Peabody Awards.

Gábor Hörcher

Hungarian filmmaker and producer Gábor Hörcher co-founded ‘KraatsFilm’ together with Marcell Iványi in 2008. Hörcher’s short film RICSI (2014) premiered at Clermont-Ferrand and won the Hungarian Short Film Award. His debut feature-length documentary DRIFTER (2014) earned him the Best First Appearance Award at IDFA and a selection for the European Film Award. He is currently working on a documentary for HBO and preparing to shoot another project, which examines the consequences of the civil war in Myanmar.

Hanna Polak

The director, cinematographer and producer Hanna Polak is renowned for her socially engaged documentaries. Her short documentary THE CHILDREN OF LENINGRADSKY (2004) garnered an Academy Award nomination and won numerous festival awards. For her most recent, multi award-winning feature-length film SOMETHING BETTER TO COME (2014), Polak followed a group of children living on a gigantic waste dump near Moscow for a period of 14 years. Hanna Polak has lectured at various film schools and universities, including Yale, and was a jury member at the IDFA and Krakow Film Festivals.

Patrik Soergel

The multi-award winning Swiss filmmaker Patrik Soergel graduated from the European Film College in Denmark and the FAMU in Prague. His films have aired on ARTE, 3sat and SRG SSR channels, and have screened at countless international festivals, including IDFA. His film THE OTHER HALF OF THE SKY (2016) screened in competition at last year’s ZFF, where he previously won the Golden Eye for THE SOUND AFTER THE STORM (2009). He regularly directs prime time documentaries for the Swiss TV channel RSI.