• inarritu babel mood

Focus Switzerland, Germany, Austria


Bettina Reitz (Jury President)

Bettina Reitz has been in charge of productions as the editor-in-chief and/or executive producer at ZDF, teamWorx and Degeto since 1991. Many of her productions have garnered important awards, including an Academy Award for DAS LEBEN DER ANDEREN (2007), AMOUR (2013) and CITIZENFOUR (2015). Bettina Reitz spent three years at the helm of Bayerischer Rundfunk as its director of programming. She has been the first full-time president of the University of Film and Television Munich since 2015, and vice president of the German Academy of Performing Arts since March 2016.

Joel Basman

Born in 1990, the Swiss actor Joel Basman first appeared on TV at the age of 14 in the Swiss series LÜTHI UND BLANC. His played his first leading role in the feature CANNABIS (2006). Basman was recipient of the Berlinale’s Shooting Stars Award in 2008 for his role in the feature length drama LUFTBUSINESS. The highlight of his hugely successful career came with receiving the German Film Award for his role in WIR SIND JUNG. WIR SIND STARK (2014). He is currently involved in the coming-of-age drama ES WAR EINMAL INDIANERLAND under the direction of İlker Çatak.

Nathalie Borgers

Belgium-born Nathalie Borgers first worked as a journalist in Brussels before studying directing and producing in San Francisco. She won the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Student Award for Documentary Writing in 1989. Borgers worked as a director and executive producer for the production company Atriom. On returning to Europe, she began her career as an independent filmmaker with films like TRUTH UNDER SIEGE (1994), WINDS OF SAND, WOMEN OF FROC (2009) and GREETINGS FROM THE COLONY (2011). Borgers’ most recent documentary film FANG DEN HAIDER screened within ZFF’s „Focus“ section in 2015.

Micha Lewinsky

The director and screenwriter Micha Lewinsky lives in Zurich and Berlin. He received the Swiss Film Award in 2008 for his widely praised directorial debut DER FREUND. This was followed by the romantic comedy DIE STANDESBEAMTIN, a Swiss box office hit in 2009. His most recent film NICHTS PASSIERT, with Devid Striesow in the lead role, premiered within ZFF’s „International Competition“ section in 2015, and has since screened at various festivals around the world. In addition to other accolades, the film also received the Swiss Film Award for Best Screenplay.

Devid Striesow

Devid Striesow graduated as an actor from the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Arts in 1999. He went on to perform at the Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg and the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus. His list of credits includes playing the protagonists in the Academy Award-winning film DIE FÄLSCHER (2007), in Tom Tykwer’s DREI (2010) and most recently, in ZFF competition entry NICHTS PASSIERT (2014). Striesow is well known to audiences of German television for his embodiment of the Chief Inspector from Saarbrücken in TATORT. Devid Striesow is a winner of the German Film Award and recipient of numerous other accolades.