Film Music Competition


The second International Film Music Competition took place during the 9th Zurich Film Festival (September 26 – October 6, 2013). The competition was implemented by Zurich Film Festival in association with Forum Filmmusik and was opened to composers born in or after 1973.

Over 100 entrants from 25 countries composed a score for a 44-person orchestra (big band with strings), setting the five-minute short film REIGN OF DEATH (Matthew Savage, 2009) to music. The competition culminated on September 27, 2013 in a film music concert at the Arena Cinemas in Zurich where the five best entries were premiered by the Zurich Jazz Orchestra and Zürcher Kammerorchester under the baton of André Bellmont.

The five finalists were Laurent Courbier (France), Aaron Kenny (Australia), Felipe Senna (Brazil), Nathan Stornetta (Switzerland) and Jan Torkewitz (Germany).

An international jury selected the winner on the same evening and presented the Golden Eye for Best International Film Music endowed with a CHF 10’000 cash prize. The jury consisted of Matthew Savage, actor and singer Carlos Leal, bandleader Pepe Lienhard, filmmaker Rolf Lyssy, composer and musician Peter Scherer as well as composer Peter Thomas.

The award evening featured a top-class film music concert performed by an ensemble comprised of members from the Zürcher Kammerorchester and the Zurich Jazz Orchestra, which interpreted the soundtracks of famous screen classics and blockbuster greats under the musical direction of André Bellmont. A performance of "Crime Suite", a medley created especially for this ZFF event using the title music of famous thrillers and crime series, was an additional highlight of the evening.

Following the film music concert, french composer Laurent Courbier was presented the Golden Eye Award for winning the second International Film Music Competition.

The third International Film Music Competition will take place on October 1st, 2014 at Tonhalle Zürich.